This tutorial will go over the options with closing down your company store on the Bright Sites Platform.
- Deleting a Store
- Turning Off a Store
- Putting a Store ON HOLD
- Prevent Shopper from Accessing Storefront
Deleting a Store:
You can delete a store so you're no longer paying monthly fees for it and once the store is deleted the store and its data (templates, orders, users, etc) are removed from our system and CANNOT be recovered.
To delete a store, login at https://controller.mybrightsites.com, then navigate to Sites.
Next, click the red "x" and in the pop-up appearing, reviewing the message and then check both boxes and click confirm. Once you do this, the store and its data (templates, orders, users, etc) are removed from our system and CANNOT be recovered.
Turning Off a Store:
This does NOT stop billing for a store and only turns off access to the storefront and store admin area. You will still be charged a monthly store hosting fee along with any additional fees for "add-ons" you have activated.
To turn off a store so you and your shoppers no longer have access, login at https://controller.mybrightsites.com, then navigate to Sites.
Next, click on the toggle to the left of the green go button and a pop-up will appear. Review the message in that pop-up and click Confirm to confirm your changes.
Turning your store off does NOT stop billing for it and only prevents admin and storefront access.
Putting a Store ON HOLD:
If you need us to save the store for you, we can keep the store “on hold” at a reduced monthly hosting rate until you’re ready to use the store again. This will make the storefront and admin area of your store inaccessible and the monthly hosting fee is reduced. Please reach out to our billing team to put your company store ON HOLD.
Prevent Shopper Accounts from Accessing Storefront:
Turning Off Areas of your Store
If your store is NOT at the advanced level, we recommend turning off categories (1), turning off payment methods (2), and turning off methods of shipping (3) to prevent users from shopping or placing orders with saved carts.
When you're ready to re-open your store, you can re-activate the above options.
With an advanced store, you can use Permissions (links to article) to lockdown access to pages and categories preventing users from shopping and checking out.
If you have multiple groups of users in the store, you would need to do the same permissions configuration for each group to ensure they can't checkout. You can use "copy permissions" to make this process quicker for multiple groups.
Then when you're ready to re-open the store, you'll just need to reverse these permission settings (our suggestion is to take a screenshot or document how permissions are setup to make the reversal process much more efficient).
- Store Areas Turned off with custom home page image and Login and Register are disabled under Store Options:
- Permissions used on store to hide all pages except the home page and hide all categories and Login and Register are disabled under Store Options:
- Permissions used on store to make it private and custom coded message has been added (requires custom design for custom message). Login is enabled, but Register is disabled under Store Options:
The assets used in the above examples can be viewed and downloaded here (after clicking the image, right-click it and choose save image as to save it to your computer):